Winners announced for Technology4Good Awards 2012

The winners of this year's Technology4Good Awards were announced at an Awards Ceremony held in London on 6 July. Over 250 entries were whittled down to just eight winners by a panel of judges form business and charity and the results were announced by broadcaster and journalist Mariella Frostrup. The Awards are run by AbilityNet and BT to celebrate the hard work of people who use computers and the internet to make the world a better place.

And the winners are:

  • AbilityNet Excellence in Accessibility Award Professor Stephen Hawking
  • Accessibility Award LexAble
  • BT Get IT Together Award Preston City Council/CitizenZone
  • Community Impact Award The Stroke Survivors Group
  • Community News Award Radio Free Brighton
  • Digital Fundraising Award Child’s i Foundation
  • Innovation Award Action Aid
  • IT Volunteer of the Year Award Alison Crerar
  • Working Together Award Social Care Institute for Excellence
  • Winner of Winners Award Child’s i Foundation

A very special part of the evening came when Professor Stephen Hawking was awarded the AbilityNet Excellence in Accessibility Award. Although not able to attend in person he sent a special message that underlined the positive role that technology can play in the lives of disabled people.

The Technology4Good Youtube channel provides a glimpse of what happened at the event - including the message sent by Professor Hawking. The channel also features interviews with many of the 200 people who attended.

More information the Technology4Good Awards website at